Breaking News

NIMC Intensifies Efforts Over NIN Registrations For Network Subscribers

Nimc intensifies efforts
The National Identity Management Commission has intensified efforts towards ensuring that the National Identification Number Slip(NINS) registration ends by February. The Federal Government through the Ministry of Information and the Nigerian Communication Commiission mandated the registration of all networks with the NIMC to avoid discontinuation and sanction amongst subscribers.

According to a media report, all network subscribers are to align with the given date which is said to end by Feb 9 2021. For those in possession of the NIN card, 31st of January 2021 is the last day of registration after which they will be sanctioned.

Several reactions has been generated as regards the sim registration with the National ID as many had alleged that the government through this process wants to regulate the social media. On the other Hand, the government says it wants to keep track of all network users in the country so as to checkmate fraud and other illegal activities carried out on internet.

For those yet to link their various networks or enroll in the NIN exercises, here are few quick steps to get started according to your network provider.

For MTN users dial *785#, follow the steps below to register your number. You will be required to input your NIN which is an eleven digit code.

Then for Airtel subscribers, dial *121*1# and follow the instructions to get linked by providing also your ID no.

While for Glo Users, you will be required to send an sms by simply typing UPDATENIN, Your ID no, first name and the last name at the write message section and sending it to 109. E.g UPDATENIN 42968527301 Chris Ekeh to 109.

In case you are having difficulties locating an enrolment centres, worry no more because we have got a good news for you. Airtel network has just been assigned as one of the enrolment centres in the country. Walk into any Airtel retail outlet and get enrolled instead of the long queues at the local government area or designated places.

No comments