Breaking News

Okigwe Bye-Election: Live Updates And Results

Okigwe bye-election update
So far so good Okigwe Senatorial District bye-election has been so peaceful with no report of any irregularity observed. The situation report in most part of the zone shows low turnout rate.

Places like Central School Anara which serves as a collation centre for Anara Osuama ward shows vote apathy with people moving about their daily businesses.

No results yet as voting tends to end at 2:30pm GMT. According to one INEC official, electoral materials arrived different polling units on time. Accreditation commenced at about 8:00am on Saturday while voting started at exactly 8:30am.

With yesterday's court judgement delivered against the All Progressive Congress Candidate, Senator Ifeany Ararume, the party currently does not have a specific flag bearer although they alleged that all votes been cast for APC is still valid and will be given to him.

Anara ward also witnessed high influx of security personnel including Army, Operation Search And Flush, Police, Civil Defence Corps and the rest. 

Anara polling unit results:
Okigwe bye-election results

Okigwe bye-election results

Eziama Polling units 002 results:
Okigwe bye-election results

Okigwe bye-election results

Meanwhile, early morning on Sunday 6 December 2020, the Independent National Election Commission had announced the All Progressive as the winner of the Okigwe Senatorial District bye-election without a Candidate.

According to Vanguard News, APC polled about 36,811 while PDP garnered 31, 905 votes as announced by the returning officer Hakeem Adikum. Report also said that the ruling party won 5 out of the six local government areas in the zone as against PDP with just one local government.

The position of the ruling party's is yet to be determined by INEC as Federal High and Appeal Court upholds Ararume's and Frank's candidancy before the general election.

The Local Government which gave APC winning include: Isiala Mbano, Ehime Mbano, Ihitte Uboma, Okigwe, Onuimo while PDP clinched victory in Obowo.

No comments